Arabic Conversation Circles

Arabic Conversation Circles are a great way to practice different varieties of Arabic in a fun and conversational setting. They are designed to teach the language in culturally-focused themes, such as Arabic food, ordering food in a restaurant, shopping and bargaining in Arab souks, taking a cab, renting an apartment, going to the doctor, Arab storytelling, music, films, weddings, games, etc.
 
Circles are open to Arabic students from all levels, and students who attend five or more language circle sessions for a particular variety of Arabic will receive extra credit in their Arabic class.
 
Schedule for Fall 2018:
 
Modern Standard Arabic Circle:
Monday 10:00-10:50 am
Instructor: Riyad Alhomsi, ralhomsi@email.arizona.edu
 
Wednesday 11:00-11:50 am
Instructor: Mohamed Ansary, mansary@email.arizona.edu
 
Moroccan Circle:
Thursday 12:00-12:50 am
Instructor: Hicham Assaoui, hassaoui@email.arizona.edu
 
Egyptian Circle:
Monday 11:00-11:50 am
Instructor: Elsayed Issa, elsayedissa@email.arizona.edu
 
Thursday 9:00-9:50 am
Instructor: Ahmad Ismail, ahmadismail@email.arizona.edu
 
Levantine Circle:
Tuesday 1:00-1:50 pm
Instructor: Riyad Al-Homsi, ralhomsi@email.arizona.edu
 
Thursday 10:00-10:50 am
Instructor: Muhammad Al-Khudair, khudair@email.arizona.edu
 
All circles take place in the language study room (Marshall 461).
 
For general questions about the Arabic Circles, please contact Dr. Sonia Shiri, Middle East Language Programs Coordinator, at soniashiri@email.arizona.edu or Charles Joukhadar, Assistant to the director of Arizona Arabic Flagship, at cjoukhad@email.arizona.edu