Students

Danielle Adams's picture
Danielle Adams
Email: dkadams@email.arizona.edu

Danielle is a 2015-2016 NASA Space Grant Fellow and has launched a new project called "Two Deserts, One Sky: Arab Observational Astronomy and Star Lore." Read her Star Calendar Blog at onesky....
[more information]

Essa Salman Alfaifi's picture
Essa Salman Alfaifi
[more information]
Islam Allosh's picture
Islam Allosh
[more information]
Hicham Assaoui's picture
Hicham Assaoui
Email: hassaoui@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Atacan Atakan's picture
Atacan Atakan
PhD Student
Email: atacanatakan@emaail.arizona.edu
TEL: 520- 626 8907
Office: 456D

- M.A., Ataturk Institute for Modern Turkish History, Bogazici University- Istanbul (2014)

Thesis: "A Teacher, Agitator and Guide: Talebe Defteri and Formation of an Ideal Child (1913-1919)"

- B.A., Global and International Affairs, Bilkent University- Ankara (2011)

- B.A.,...
[more information]

Cyndia Claypoole's picture
Cyndia Claypoole
Email: cyndiac@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Jibreel Delgado's picture
Jibreel Delgado
Email: jibreeld@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Mojtaba Ebrahimian's picture
Mojtaba Ebrahimian
Email: ebrahimian@email.arizona.edu

Mojtaba Ebrahimian is a PhD student in the School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies at the University of Arizona. His research interests include Iranian modern and contemporary literature and culture, literary theory, as well as comparative literary and cultural studies....
[more information]

Aaron Graybill's picture
Aaron Graybill
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: agraybill@email.arizona.edu

Aaron Graybill is an MA student in the School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies at the University of Arizona. His research interests include language planning...
[more information]

Gulsum Gurbuz's picture
Gulsum Gurbuz
Email: ggurbz@email.arizona.edu

Hi! My name is Gulsum Gurbuz-Kucuksari. I have been in the States for about 8 years now. I came here for educational reasons and completed my Masters on Islamic Studies and Christian-Muslim Relations at Hartford Seminary in CT. I then got married and came to Arizona and later started at the UofA...
[more information]

Faraj Hamdan's picture
Faraj Hamdan
Email: hamdan@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Lyndall Herman's picture
Lyndall Herman
Teaching Associate
Email: lyndallh@email.arizona.edu

 

Lyndall Herman is a PhD candidate in the School of Middle Eastern and North Africa Studies at the University of Arizona. Her research interests include civil-security relations, the place of international aid organizations in conflict, Islamic social movements, Responsibility to Protect...
[more information]

Felisa Hervey's picture
Felisa Hervey
Email: fdyrud@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Jennifer Hijazi's picture
Jennifer Hijazi
Email: jhijazi@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Parvaneh Hosseini Fahraji's picture
Parvaneh Hosseini Fahraji
Email: hosseini@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Ahmad Ismail's picture
Ahmad Ismail
Email: ahmadismail@email.arizona.edu

My name is Ahmad Ismail. I am a PhD candidate in Middle Eastern and North African Studies (MENAS) at the University of Arizona, and I specialize in teaching Arabic as a foreign/second language, having taught it for the better part of...
[more information]

Cheikh Isselmou's picture
Cheikh Isselmou
Email: isselmou@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Abraham Jimenez's picture
Abraham Jimenez
Email: abex99@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Kyle Jones's picture
Kyle Jones
Email: kysjones@email.arizona.edu

I am primarily interested in aspects of the phonetics and phonology of Semitic languages, especially Modern Hebrew and Egyptian Arabic, which I investigate using laboratory phonology research methods. I am also interested in the longstanding debate over whether words in Semitic languages are...
[more information]

Charles Joukhadar's picture
Charles Joukhadar
Email: cjoukhad@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Pouye Khoshkhoosani's picture
Pouye Khoshkhoosani
Email: khoshkho@email.arizona.edu

Pouye is a PhD candidate, writing her dissertation on the Safavid-Mughal poetry. While working on her dissertation, as a graduate assistant she teaches Persian classes at MENAS. Her research interests are metaphor studies, literary criticism, gender and sexuality, comparative literature (Arabic...
[more information]

Firas Klink's picture
Firas Klink
Email: ferasklenk@email.arizona.edu

Firas is a PhD student in the School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies at the University of Arizona with minors in history and geography. His research interests include state formation, political economy, and the production of territory in the Persian Gulf. 


[more information]
David Koopman's picture
David Koopman
Email: davidkoopman@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Zoe Kosoff's picture
Zoe Kosoff
Email: zkosoff@email.arizona.edu

Zoë is an MA/PhD student in the School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies at the University of Arizona. She is concentrating in Arabic linguistics and intends to minor in second language acquisition and teaching (SLAT). Her research interests include teaching Arabic as a foreign...
[more information]

Alyeh Mehin's picture
Alyeh Mehin
Email: alyehmehin@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Kerith Miller's picture
Kerith Miller
Email: kmiller3@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Robert Nixon's picture
Robert Nixon
Email: rtnixon@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Ahmed Ould Meiloud's picture
Ahmed Ould Meiloud
Email: ameiloud@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Saffo Papantonopoulou's picture
Saffo Papantonopoulou
Anthropology and Middle East Studies Dual PhD
Email: saffo@email.arizona.edu

I am a dual PhD student in the Anthropology and Middle Eastern Studies departments. My research is focused on the intersection of LGBT issues and the politics of Ottoman heritage in the Balkans and the Middle East, with my geographic focus on the city of Thessaloniki and northern Greece more...
[more information]

John Perugini's picture
John Perugini
[more information]

Pages